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Introduction

The old story tells of two derelicts meeting under the Arches on the
Embankment. One says to the other, “Didn’t you used to play high
stakes rubber bridge?”

“Yes,” replies the second man, “but | never learned to draw
trumps and | lost everything. Did the same thing happen to you...”

“Oh, no,” answered the first bum, “I always drew trumps, and
that’s what led to my downfall.”

The moral of the story, of course, is that your results will
improve significantly by identifying those deals on which you
should draw trumps and those on which you should not do so.

| have read numerous books on declarer play, and most of them
seem to contain hand after hand illustrating the exceptions to the
norm. My teaching experience, though, suggests that what most
players really need is practise at those more mundane deals that
crop up day after day. Indeed, many of the hands you will encounter
in these pages require little more than counting your tricks.

Not that all of the deals here are ‘easy’: what would be the point
of reading a book if you could already solve every problem? Some
of the deals are more difficult, particularly if you have not seen the
position before. Hopefully, though, having followed the logic
behind the analysis of those problems here, you will then be able to
come up with the winning play when you encounter similar
situations at the table.

The deals here can mostly be solved by straightforward planning.
In fact, forget | used the word “planning’, since even that seems to
frighten people. Instead, let’s simply call it ‘thinking’.

If you want to test yourself as we go, cover the E/W cards and
decide how you would play before reading on. At the end of each
chapter, you will also find some quiz hands.

Enjoy!

M.S.



This book is dedicated to the memory of two of my former bridge
partners who are sadly no longer with us. Both were not only excellent
bridge players, but also wonderful human beings. They may be gone,
but neither will ever be forgotten by anyone lucky enough to have
known them.

To both Peter Czerniewski and to Jane Preddy | would like to say:
“Thank you, it was a real pleasure”.

M.S. 2016



Chapter 1 - “Should | Draw Trumps?”

The simple answer to the question is: “Probably, yes”. On the majority
of deals played in a suit contract, the best play is for declarer to draw
trumps as soon as possible. Far more contracts fail because declarer
does not draw trumps quickly than because he does so when he should
not do so. At the risk of repeating myself then, let me over-emphasize
this point right at the beginning: “On most deals, you should draw
trumps immediately”.

Of course, every beginner quickly realizes that there are plenty of
exceptions to this ‘rule’ (which is why I can write a whole book on the
subject). We’ll meet the most common exceptions later, but for now
just remember that they are called “‘exceptions’ for a reason.

The winning line of play on most of the deals you will come across
at the table is straightforward: draw trumps, set up side-suit tricks,
cash winners, take ruffs and claim your contract. The objective is to
recognize the exceptions but otherwise to follow that basic formula.

Always remember too, that you chose to play in a suit contract for a
reason: “the trump suit belongs to the declarer”. Of course, the
defenders have the opening lead so they may choose to begin the
trump-drawing process by leading the suit. Indeed, there are still some
players out there who think they should lead a trump whenever they
cannot think of anything else to lead! Whether you take advantage of
this usually-misguided notion by continuing to draw trumps or not,
though, will generally be up to you as declarer.

Whether you are playing in a suit or in notrumps, it is imperative
that you make some sort of plan before you play that first card from
dummy. In this opening chapter we will look at how you should
actually go about making that plan. The first step in a suit contract is
to start by asking yourself one simple question: “If I draw trumps,
will I have enough tricks for my contract?”

Let’s start with some excitement — a grand slam. Cover the E/W
cards and decide how you will play:



E/W Vul: Dealer South

48642
vJ
¢+AKQ4
&90872
a7 41093
vQ876543 v 10
+8 1097532
Q1053 &»KJ64
aAKQIJS
YAK92
+J6
& A6
West North East South
— — — le
Pass 4y Pass S5
Pass 5¢ Pass 5v
Pass 6¢ Pass 7o

All Pass

You bid unopposed to Seven Spades via a splinter bid and an
exchange of cue-bids. West leads the 8. How do you set about
making all thirteen tricks?

Let’s count the losers in the long trump hand (South) — two hearts
and one club. Perhaps your immediate reaction is that dummy’s
singleton means that you can ruff the two heart losers. That leaves you
with just a club loser to deal with, and that can be thrown on dummy’s
third high diamond.

Bidding and making a grand slam is always a thrill, so you quickly
win the opening lead with dummy’s ¢A, cross to your hand with the
YA, and lead one of your heart losers, ruffing in dummy. Disaster —
East overruffs! He returns a diamond and West ruffs. Now comes a
third round of hearts. You ruff forlornly in dummy, but East overruffs
with the #9. You manage to make the remaining tricks but your grand



slam has gone three down. What foul distribution. What went wrong?

Let’s try counting those losers again — two hearts and one club.
How can we dispose of those three losers? Dummy has three diamond
winners, but the 4J in your hand is also a winner, which means that
two of your losers can be discarded on dummy’s high diamonds.
Remember to ask yourself: “Do | have enough tricks if | draw
trumps?” Let’s count winners now — five trumps in hand, four
diamonds, two high hearts and the ace of clubs comes to twelve. This
means that you will still need to ruff one heart in dummy to bring your
total to thirteen, but is there any rush to take that ruff?

Win the opening lead in your hand with the jack of diamonds (to
avoid blocking the suit) and immediately lay down a high trump.
When both defenders follow, you now know that you can afford draw
all of the missing trumps and still have one left in dummy to ruff your
last heart loser.

Having drawn the rest of the defenders’ trumps, scoring the
remaining tricks will then be plain sailing: grand slam bid and made.

The small slam on our next deal may look straightforward, but
there are still some pitfalls to be avoided:

4KQ6

v7

+KQ74

#A8542
a3 410974
vJl94 vQ1087532
+A9853 )
271093 a7

aAJ852

vAKSB

+J106

+K6

You quickly reach Six Spades and West leads the #J. How do you
plan to make twelve tricks?



There are only two obvious losers. You cannot avoid conceding a
trick to the ace of diamonds, so the question is how to dispose of your
losing heart. You have obviously noticed dummy’s shortage so
perhaps you decide that you can simply take care of your heart loser by
taking a ruff? For many declarers, that is as far as their planning would
go, and with fatal consequences.

Take a look at the defenders’ hands. Can you see what will happen
if you win the opening club lead with dummy’s ace, cross to a top
heart in your hand, and ruff your losing heart in dummy?

You will be able to cash dummy’s king and queen of spades, but
there will then be no safe route to your hand in order to draw East’s
remaining trumps. If you try to get back to hand with a diamond, West
will win and give his partner a ruff in one of the minors. If you attempt
to cross in clubs, East will ruff, play a diamond to his partner’s ace,
and get a diamond ruff to put you two down.

“Well, that was a frightfully unlucky distribution, partner.”

Many declarers would then go on to the next deal bemoaning their
bad luck and never realizing that the slam could, and should, have
been made. Let’s go back to trick one and ask the essential question —
“Do | have enough tricks if | draw trumps?”

Counting tricks, you can see five trumps in hand, the A-K of hearts
and the A-K of clubs on top — that’s nine. You can also establish three
diamond tricks by force, by knocking out the ace. That brings your
total to the required twelve. So, let’s win the opening lead and draw
trumps: not quite so fast — you have not quite finished your thinking
yet. There is one more question to be asked before you play to trick
one — where are you going to win the opening club lead?

If you wondered, “Does it matter?” you need to take a second look.
Remember that in the plan you just made, you counted three diamond
tricks. Are you sure that you can reach the long diamond winner once
you have set it up? Suppose you win the opening lead with dummy’s
ace of clubs, draw trumps in four rounds, and then lead diamonds. If
the defenders hold up their ace of diamonds until the third round, your
twelfth trick will then be stranded in an entry-less dummy. Your only
possible late entry to dummy is the ace of clubs, so you must be
careful not to waste that card at trick one.

Having counted that you have twelve tricks AND made a plan for
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cashing them all, you are now ready to play. Win the opening club
lead in your hand with the king, draw trumps, and then lead diamonds
until a defender takes his ace. Nothing can now stop you from
throwing your heart loser on dummy’s fourth diamond and the slam is
yours.

It is worth mentioning one final point of technique here. In the
description of the play in the previous paragraph, | simply said ‘draw
trumps’ and ‘lead diamonds’. In both cases, though, it is important that
you play the cards in those two suits in the right order. Let’s look at
that trump suit in isolation:

4KQ6
]
aAJ952

When you draw trumps here, you should play dummy’s king and
queen on the first two rounds of the suit. If you play the ace or the jack
on either of the first two rounds of trumps, you block the suit and risk
getting stuck in dummy with an enemy trump still at large. (Yes, on
this occasion you would survive because you have a heart entry to
your hand, but you will not always be so endowed.)

Getting used to cashing suits without creating a blockage is just a
good habit to get into. Note also that it does not matter which honors
are in which hand. The spade suit could just as easily have been:

aKJ6 4 AKB
] or ]
4aAQ952 4QJ952

Do these three spade layouts look different?

Yes, they do, but in practical terms they are identical. In each of the
layouts, you have four touching honors and each of those honors is
therefore of equal value. What is important is that you cash the honors

11



in the hand with short trumps first in order to avoid blocking the suit.

This concept comes up repeatedly and it is an important one to
understand, so let’s look at a second example — the diamonds on the
deal above.

+KQ74
]
+J106

Once again, you need to start by first playing the honors from the
short suit (this time, your hand).

To see why, suppose you lead the 6 to dummy’s king and then
play a low diamond back to your jack. West can now win his ace and
play a second round of clubs, removing your outside entry to dummy.
You are left with two diamond winners, the ten and the queen, but you
will not be able to get to dummy to enjoy the second of these.

If, instead, you start by leading the ¢J and (if that holds) continue
with the #10, it matters not how the defenders’ diamonds are divided,
when they take their ace, nor what they do next. Whatever happens,
you will have a diamond winner in dummy on which to discard your
heart loser and, if needed, an outside entry to reach that winner.

This diamond suit is another example of a layout that can appear in
different guises:

+KQT74 +31074 +QI74
o ] o
+3106 +KQ6 +K106

These diamond layouts may look different, but the principles are the
same as we saw with the spade suit above. Your touching honors are
all of equal value. In each case, you should start by leading the honors
in the hand with the shorter holding first. Not doing so risks blocking
the suit.

12



The urge to take apparently cheap ruffs in dummy can be a difficult
one to overcome. Let’s see how you cope with temptation on another
slam hand:

Both Vul: Dealer South

Q_
vyQ1053
752
*AQJ1065
aAJOT2 aK10863
vyK72 v6
+Q1083 +J6
& 7 98432
4Q54
vyAJ984
¢+AK94
& K
West North East South
— — — 1lv
la 3e 4 6v

All Pass

Although the opponents manage to elevate the bidding to the 4-
level on the first round, your partner’s jump cue-bid shows a shortage
in spades and agrees hearts so you quickly reach slam.

West opens the defense with the #7.

How do you play?

If you start by counting losers in your hand, you’ll see two
diamonds, three spades and perhaps a trump too. That seems like an
awful lot when you are in a slam contract, so your first inclination may
be to reduce that number quickly by ruffing spades in dummy.

Let’s see how the play might go: win with the king of clubs and ruff
a spade. Lead a diamond to the ace and ruff a second spade. Now you
try to cross back to hand via the trump finesse, but West wins with the

13



vK and returns a second trump, East discarding a club. When you next
cash one of dummy’s top clubs, throwing your last spade, West ruffs.
He exits with a spade, which you can ruff in hand, but you still have
two diamonds to lose. Oops! Three down.

Let us now go back to the beginning and ask the all-important
question — “If 1 draw trumps, will 1 have enough tricks for my
contract?”

Even if you have to lose a trick to the YK, you can count four trump
tricks in hand. The ace-king of diamonds makes six. You already have
one club trick and there are five more club winners in dummy, which
seems to bring your total to twelve. Let’s just check — can you reach
those club winners after trumps are drawn? Clearly, the only possible
entries to dummy are in trumps, but that is okay so long as the trumps
split no worse than 3-1.

Let’s play it through mentally before doing anything: win with the
#K, cash the YA and (assuming both defenders follow suit) continue
with a second trump. What can the defenders do?

If West holds up the ¥K, you will simply win in dummy and cash
winning clubs, discarding losers. Eventually, someone can ruff in with
the king, but there will still be a trump in dummy to get back to the
winning clubs.

Alternatively, if a defender wins the second round of trumps with
the king and his partner shows out, you can ruff the spade continuation
and draw the outstanding trump with the queen, keeping the lead in
dummy so that you can cash the clubs.

Whatever happens, you will have no problem amassing twelve
tricks — slam made!

On the deals we have looked at so far, declarer risked being
seduced into ruffing at the wrong time by the lure of cheap tricks.
Judging when to take your ruffs is vital.

Another way of making easy tricks is via a successful finesse. Take
a look at just the N/S cards on the next deal and decide how you
would play Four Spades on the lead of the queen of clubs:

14



INTERMEDIATE

TO DRAW OR NOT TO DRAW...
(TRUMPS, THAT IS)¢

You might be forgiven for thinking this is an easy question to answer,
and on many deals it is. But there are also a large number of situations
where it’s all too easy to make the wrong decision. As declarer, you
(usually) have the majority of cards in the trump suit, but managing
them to best effect isn’t always quite so simple.

In this book, Marc Smith (a regular columnist for BRIDGE
Magazine) looks at those less straightforward deals where you can't just
‘draw trumps and claim’. Perhaps you need ruffs in the short hand,
perhaps a crossruff is the way home, perhaps you have entry problems,
or (shudder) a less than robust trump suit. Maybe you need to guard
against a bad break, either in trumps or in a side suit. Or perhaps you
need to play the early part of the hand with an eye to the endgame,
planning a throw-in or squeeze.

All these eventualities and more are discussed, as the reader is shown
step by step not only how to handle these issues in the play, but how to
recognize them at the table and become a significantly better declarer

as a result.

|| I MARC SMITH is a bridge writer and expert player
who has lived in Europe, North America and Asia.

QK‘ The author of more than 20 books, he co-wrote the

;s : bestselling 25 Bridge Conventions You Should Know
- = with Barbara Seagram. He is a two-time winner of
‘Sﬁﬁ«g% the American Bridge Teachers’ Association Book of
i the Year award.
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